Skip to content
Ring & Ember
Smokeless · Comparison

TIKI vs Solo Stove

This is not a better-or-worse comparison. It is a straight trade between how much fire you get today and how the pit looks in five years.

By Scooter M.Updated How we rank these
Two people sitting beside a lit backyard fire pit at night

DisclosureWe earn a commission when you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Prices come from Amazon and change without notice. How this site is funded.

The short answer

Same mechanism, opposite priorities. The TIKI is 25 in of powder-coated 16-gauge stainless with the cover, stand and ash pan included and no stated warranty. The Solo Stove is 19.5 in of bare 304 with a lifetime defects warranty. You are choosing fire size against finish durability.

Quick picksTap a row for the full write-up
#ProductBest forKey specPrice
1
TIKI Brand Patio Fire Pit, 25 in
TIKI Brand Patio Fire Pit, 25 in25 in of powder-coated stainless with a cover in the box. The cheapest way into a large smokeless pit, and the coating is the trade you are making.
Diameter per dollar16-gauge stainless steel$395.00 · View on Amazon
2
Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0
Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0The default smokeless pit: 19.5 in of 304 stainless, light enough for one person to move, and the only unit in this set whose ash pan makes cleanup a 30-second job.
Most backyards304 stainless steel$349.99 · View on Amazon

Prices are pulled live from Amazon. Where no live price is showing, the button reads “check price” rather than a number we cannot stand behind.

Pick 1 · Diameter per dollar

TIKI Brand Patio Fire Pit, 25 in

TIKI Brand
TIKI Brand Patio Fire Pit, 25 in

25 in of powder-coated stainless with a cover in the box. The cheapest way into a large smokeless pit, and the coating is the trade you are making.

What is good
  • 25 in for well under what a comparable stainless pit costs
  • 16-gauge is a published number, which more than half this category refuses to give
  • Cover included, which is a real cost avoided
What is not
  • A powder coat over the burn zone is a finish that eventually fails. Bare stainless has nothing to fail
  • No warranty term on the listing, so there is nothing to hold anyone to
  • Smaller accessory range than Solo Stove or Breeo
Who it is for

A first smokeless pit where diameter matters more than the last season of finish.

Skip this if

You want a documented warranty. Two other brands here publish one.

What we could not assess

We have not burned this unit. These are the things a specification sheet cannot answer, listed rather than glossed over.

  • The warranty term. We could not find one stated
  • How the powder coat behaves after several full seasons of use
Spec sheet
Diameter25 in1
Material16-gauge stainless steel1
FinishPowder-coated1
CoverIncluded, weather-resistant1
Ash panRemovable1
StandIncluded1
Warranty termNot stated on the listing1
$395.00 · View on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · price as of October 18, 2026

Pick 2 · Most backyards

Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0

Solo Stove
Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0

The default smokeless pit: 19.5 in of 304 stainless, light enough for one person to move, and the only unit in this set whose ash pan makes cleanup a 30-second job.

What is good
  • 304 stainless resists the pitting that kills painted carbon-steel pits in two seasons
  • Removable ash pan and base plate, so the cleanup path is genuinely short
  • Light enough that one person moves it off a deck before a storm
  • The largest accessory range in the category, so a cooking or lid upgrade exists later
What is not
  • 17.5 in of usable chamber means standard 16 in firewood often needs splitting down
  • The warranty excludes rust, which is the failure mode most owners actually hit
  • Published weight varies by 3 lb across retail listings for the same product
Who it is for

A patio or backyard where the pit gets moved a few times a season and cleanup speed matters more than raw fire volume.

Skip this if

You burn full 16 in splits without cutting them down, or you want a pit that doubles as a cooking surface. The Breeo does that better.

What we could not assess

We have not burned this unit. These are the things a specification sheet cannot answer, listed rather than glossed over.

  • How much smoke reduction you get in practice. It depends on wood moisture, wind and load, and no published figure covers your yard
  • Long-run finish durability on the ceramic-coated colorways
  • Real burn time on a full load. OutdoorGearLab's 60-minute figure is one test, not a specification
Spec sheet
Outer diameter19.5 in2
Height14 in2
Inner diameter17.5 in2
Max log length16 in2
Weight (measured)21.2 lb2
Weight (listings)20-23.3 lb, they disagree1
Material304 stainless steel1
FuelWood; pellets with adapter2
StandIncluded on the current listing1
WarrantyLifetime, defects only3
Rust coveredNo3
$349.99 · View on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · price as of October 18, 2026

The mechanism is a tie, so ignore it

Both are double-wall pits doing the same thing: air drawn up between the walls, preheated, vented over the flame to reignite the gases that would otherwise leave as smoke. Neither publishes a tested smoke figure, because nobody in this category does. Any comparison that ranks these two on smoke performance is inventing the difference. How the mechanism works.

The two, on everything that actually differs
TIKI Patio 25Solo Stove Bonfire 2.0
Outer diameter25 in19.5 in
Steel16-gauge stainless304 stainless
FinishPowder-coatedBare
In the boxCover, stand, ash panStand
WarrantyNot stated on the listingLifetime, defects only
Rust coveredNot statedNo

Published listing figures. "Not stated" means the listing publishes nothing, which is not the same as an absence — but it is also not something we will assert on a maker's behalf.

Fire area, TIKI 25 vs Bonfire 19.5
Bonfire 2.0 outer diameter19.5 in
TIKI Patio outer diameter25 in
Area scales with the square of diameter(25 / 19.5)^2
Formula

(25 / 19.5)^2 = 1.28^2

Result

1.64x the fire area

Published outer diameters, squared. A geometry ratio and not a heat measurement — neither maker publishes a tested output figure. It explains why the TIKI reads as a noticeably bigger fire, and why it gets through proportionally more wood.

Finish is where they genuinely diverge

Bare 304 stainless has nothing to fail. It will discolor with heat and it can surface-rust if left uncovered through a wet winter, but there is no coating to blister or flake, and the underlying alloy resists the pitting that eventually holes cheaper steel over a burn zone.

A powder coat over a burn zone is a consumable by definition. That is not a defect and it is not a reason to avoid the pit — it is a maintenance profile. The TIKI ships with a cover precisely because keeping the finish out of the weather is what makes it last, and using that cover is the difference between five good seasons and two. Rust and maintenance.

What is in the box is real money

The TIKI states a cover, a stand and a removable ash pan. On the premium side those are separate purchases, and a cover and a stand together are not a trivial sum. Netting that off narrows the price gap considerably — which is the honest way to compare these two rather than looking at the headline figures alone.

The counter-argument is the accessory range. Solo Stove's is by far the largest in the category, so if you expect to add a lid, a heat deflector or a cooking ring later, that path exists and is proven. With the TIKI it may not.

Which one for which buyer

  • You want the biggest fire you can reasonably clear, and you will use the cover — TIKI. More fire, more in the box, and the finish survives if you look after it.
  • You want to buy once and stop thinking about it — Solo Stove. The published grade and the lifetime term are what you are paying for, and they are real.
  • Your clear radius is tight — Solo Stove, or smaller. A 25 in fire needs room you may not have. What size pit you need.
  • You want to cook on it — neither, really. The cooking pits.
How these were ranked
  • Both pits use the same double-wall mechanism, so the comparison is deliberately narrow: diameter, finish, what ships in the box and what is warranted.
  • Every figure is quoted from the current retail listing and cited on each product's spec sheet.
  • The fire-area ratio is our arithmetic from published diameters, shown rather than asserted.
  • What we did not do: burn either one, or compare smoke output.

We have not burned any of these units, and we do not claim to have. The full method, including what it cannot tell you.

Common questions

Is TIKI as good as Solo Stove?
On the burn, they use the same double-wall mechanism and neither publishes a tested smoke figure. The TIKI gives more diameter and more in the box; the Solo Stove gives a published 304 grade and a lifetime warranty.
Which is bigger, the TIKI or the Solo Stove Bonfire?
The TIKI at 25 in against 19.5 in — about 1.64 times the fire area, since area scales with the square of diameter. It also burns proportionally more wood.
Does the TIKI fire pit rust?
It is stainless under a powder coat, so the finish is the consumable rather than the metal. Once a coating fails over a burn zone the steel is exposed; bare stainless has no coating to lose.
Is the Solo Stove worth the extra money over a TIKI?
If you value a published steel grade, a lifetime defects warranty and a deep accessory range, yes. If you want the most fire for the money and will use the cover, the TIKI is the better buy.
Do either come with a cover?
The TIKI states a cover, stand and ash pan in the box. The Solo Stove listing states a stand. Netting the accessories off narrows the price gap more than the headline figures suggest.