Skip to content
Ring & Ember
Propane · Comparison

Outland 893 Deluxe vs 883 Mega

Identical burner rating, identical runtime, identical running cost. The only thing that changes is how wide the flame spreads.

By Scooter M.Updated How we rank these
A close-up of a burner flame

DisclosureWe earn a commission when you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Prices come from Amazon and change without notice. How this site is funded.

The short answer

Both run a 58,000 BTU/hr burner on a 20 lb cylinder, so both give about 7.4 hours per tank and cost the same to run. The 893 is a 19 in bowl, CSA certified, with cover, carry kit and lava rock in the box. The 883 Mega spreads the same burner over 24 in. Wider flame, same heat.

Quick picksTap a row for the full write-up
#ProductBest forKey specPrice
1
Outland Living Firebowl 893 Deluxe
Outland Living Firebowl 893 Deluxe58,000 BTU, CSA-certified, and the pit most often accepted where wood fires are not. The cover and carry kit are in the box, which is why this is the one to buy over the bare 823.
Burn bans and travel58,000 BTU/hr$159.99 · View on Amazon
2
Outland Living Firebowl 883 Mega
Outland Living Firebowl 883 MegaThe 893's burner in a 24 in bowl. The same 58,000 BTU spread over more area, which buys presence rather than heat.
A bigger gas flame58,000 BTU/hr$214.99 · View on Amazon

Prices are pulled live from Amazon. Where no live price is showing, the button reads “check price” rather than a number we cannot stand behind.

Pick 1 · Burn bans and travel

Outland Living Firebowl 893 Deluxe

Outland Living
Outland Living Firebowl 893 Deluxe

58,000 BTU, CSA-certified, and the pit most often accepted where wood fires are not. The cover and carry kit are in the box, which is why this is the one to buy over the bare 823.

What is good
  • CSA certification is the thing an HOA or a campground manager actually asks to see
  • No embers, so it is the defensible choice under a covered patio and during most burn bans
  • Shuts off instantly, which removes the entire put-it-out problem
What is not
  • A 1-year warranty is the shortest in this whole registry
  • A 20 lb tank has to live somewhere, and the hose length dictates where the pit can sit
  • 58,000 BTU is a burner rating, not a measure of how warm you will feel
Who it is for

Anyone in a burn-ban county, on a covered patio, in an HOA, or towing it to a campsite.

Skip this if

You want the smell and the sound of a wood fire. A gas flame is not a substitute, and pretending otherwise wastes your money.

What we could not assess

We have not burned this unit. These are the things a specification sheet cannot answer, listed rather than glossed over.

  • Real-world runtime, which depends on how low you run the burner. Our figure is arithmetic at full output
  • Long-run corrosion on the powder-coated bowl in coastal air
Spec sheet
Bowl diameter19 in1
Output58,000 BTU/hr1
FuelLiquid propane, 20 lb tank1
CertificationCSA approved1
BurnerStainless steel1
IncludedCover, carry kit, lava rock1
Warranty1 year limited1
Runtime per 20 lb tank7.4 hr at full outputcalc
$159.99 · View on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · price as of October 18, 2026

Pick 2 · A bigger gas flame

Outland Living Firebowl 883 Mega

Outland Living
Outland Living Firebowl 883 Mega

The 893's burner in a 24 in bowl. The same 58,000 BTU spread over more area, which buys presence rather than heat.

What is good
  • A wider flame pattern reads much better as a backyard centerpiece
  • Identical burner rating to the 19 in model, so running cost is unchanged
  • Cover included
What is not
  • The same BTU over more area means lower flame height, not more heat
  • A larger footprint eats into patio clearance
  • Heavier and more awkward to move than the 893
Who it is for

A fixed patio spot where the pit is the visual centerpiece.

Skip this if

You are buying for heat. The number that matters did not change.

What we could not assess

We have not burned this unit. These are the things a specification sheet cannot answer, listed rather than glossed over.

  • Whether the wider bowl changes perceived warmth at seated distance. Nobody publishes that
Spec sheet
Bowl diameter24 in1
Output58,000 BTU/hr1
FuelLiquid propane, 20 lb tank1
CoverIncluded, UV and weather resistant1
Runtime per 20 lb tank7.4 hr at full outputcalc
$214.99 · View on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · price as of October 18, 2026

The number that does not change

This is the comparison people get wrong, and the reason is intuitive: a bigger bowl looks like a bigger fire, so it ought to be warmer. It is not. Both bowls carry the same published 58,000 BTU/hr rating, which means the same quantity of gas is being burned per hour in both. Spreading that over more area gives you a wider, lower flame pattern — more presence, not more output.

Because the rating is what determines consumption, the running cost is also identical. Both empty a 20 lb cylinder in about 7.4 hours at full output. There is no efficiency argument in either direction. The runtime arithmetic · What a BTU rating does and does not tell you.

The two, on everything that differs
893 Deluxe883 Mega
Bowl diameter19 in24 in
Output58,000 BTU/hr58,000 BTU/hr
Runtime per 20 lb tank7.4 hr (computed)7.4 hr (computed)
CertificationCSA approvedNot stated on the listing
In the boxCover, carry kit, lava rockCover
Warranty1 year limitedNot stated on the listing

Published listing figures. A blank is a figure the listing does not state, which is not the same as an absence — but it is also not something we will assert on the maker's behalf.

The certification is the real differentiator

The 893 Deluxe's listing states CSA approval. That is the single most practically useful line in either spec sheet, because it is the thing an HOA board, a campground manager or a landlord actually asks to see when they want evidence that an appliance is certified. A wider bowl is not an argument you can make to a committee; a certification mark is.

The 883 Mega's listing does not state it. We are not going to conclude from that that the product lacks certification — absence from a retail listing is weak evidence either way — but if the certification is the reason you are buying gas at all, buy the one that publishes it. HOA fire pit rules · Burn bans and what they exempt.

What ships in the box is real money

The 893 Deluxe includes a cover, a carry kit and lava rock. The 883 Mega's listing states a cover. A carry kit and a bag of lava rock are not expensive individually, but they are the difference between a pit that is usable the day it arrives and one that needs a second order. On a product where the two units are otherwise mechanically the same, the inclusions carry more weight than usual.

Where each one actually belongs

The 893 is the travel and tight-space bowl. 19 in leaves you a clearance radius that is achievable on a real patio, the carry kit exists for a reason, and it is the Outland that turns up across this site's placement pages for exactly that reason. The patio list.

The 883 Mega is a fixed-position centerpiece. Its own listing frames it that way, and the wider bowl eats into the clear radius on a small patio while reading much better as the middle of a seating circle in an open yard. The backyard list.

What neither listing tells you

Whether a wider bowl changes perceived warmth at seated distance. It plausibly does — the same output spread over more area radiates from a larger surface — but nobody publishes a measurement, and the difference between plausible and measured is the whole of this site's method. How we research.

How these were ranked
  • Both bowls carry the same published burner rating, so the comparison is deliberately narrow: bowl diameter, what ships in the box, and portability.
  • Runtime is computed from the US DOE energy content of propane and is identical for both, because the burner rating is identical.
  • What we did not do: light either one, or measure perceived warmth at seated distance.

We have not burned any of these units, and we do not claim to have. The full method, including what it cannot tell you.

Common questions

Is the Outland 883 Mega hotter than the 893?
No. Both carry the same 58,000 BTU/hr burner rating, so the same gas is burned per hour. The Mega spreads it over a 24 in bowl instead of 19 in, which gives a wider flame rather than more heat.
Which Outland Firebowl should I buy?
The 893 Deluxe for most people: it states CSA approval, includes a cover, carry kit and lava rock, and is easier to place. The 883 Mega is for a fixed spot where you want the wider flame.
Do the 893 and 883 use propane at the same rate?
Yes. Consumption follows the burner rating, which is identical, so both give about 7.4 hours per 20 lb cylinder at full output.
Is the Outland 883 Mega CSA certified?
Its retail listing does not state it. The 893 Deluxe's listing does. If certification is why you are buying gas, buy the one that publishes it rather than assuming.
What is the difference between the Outland 870 and the 893?
The 870 Premium is the same 19 in bowl and the same burner with auto-ignition instead of a match. Worth it if you light the pit weekly, irrelevant if you do not.